Department of Art and Art History and the Visual Arts Center announce 2020 Senior Art Exhibition: From Afar

Austin, TX—The annual Senior Art Exhibition is a pivotal moment for young artists graduating from the Department of Art and Art History at The University of Texas at Austin. This year’s graduating students respond to the COVID-19 crisis and life in isolation, explore relationships, channel emotions, question notions of identity and spark dialogue around issues of social justice. Their exhibition, aptly titled From Afar, includes work ranging from drawing and painting to photography, sculpture, and digital media by students receiving bachelor’s degrees in Studio Art, Visual Art Studies and Art History.

This year, a guest juror was invited to select five outstanding Studio Art students participating in the Senior Art Exhibition to be recognized with the honor of Juror’s Distinction. These students have been awarded the Steve Grosskopf Endowed Scholarship in Studio Art, which provides stipends to undergraduate Studio Art students for the purchase of art supplies. Our inaugural guest juror, UT alumna and McKinnon Curator of Modern & Contemporary Art at the Chrysler Museum of Art, Kimberli Gant (Ph.D. in Art History, 2017), selected the following students for distinction: Vivie Behrens, Hyo-Jung Jeon, Holly Kuhl, Weatherly Sawyer and Celia Shaheen.

This exhibition is organized by Associate Professor of Practice in Photography & Media, Alexander Birchler; Margo Sawyer, Professor of Studio Art in Sculpture & Extended Media; and the Visual Arts Center staff. The organizers thank alumna Gant for serving as this year’s guest juror, and the Steve Grosskopf Endowed Scholarship in Studio Art for the generous support of graduating students.

From Afar: 2020 Senior Art Exhibition
June 1 – July 18, 2020


Elaine Adams
Mia Batts
Vivie Behrens
Natalie Broussard
Abby Carlin
Kailyn Carr
Jacob Cornish
Jenni Daum
Lindsay Davis
Nathan Dinh
Marissa Dunagan
Bryana Garcia
Emma Garcia
Karen Hatfield Cisneros
Kaelyn Huang
Hyo-Jung Jeon
Clay Kogut
Holly Kuhl
Alyssa LeLeux
Michelle Moore
Keeley Morgan
Lauren Rivera
Adrienne Sanchez
Weatherly Sawyer
Charlotte Schembri
Celia Shaheen
Vivian Shiue
Kira Slentz
Yiming Sun
Devin Wilkins

Back to top