2020 Art Education Lecture Series

Feb 26, 2020 6:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Free and Open to the Public

The 2020 Art Education Lecture Series welcomes James Haywood Rolling, Jr. and Patty Bode.

Rolling, President-Elect of the National Art Education Association and Professor and Chair of Art Education as well as the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for the College of Visual and Performing Arts at Syracuse University will present, "Creative Leadership and the Age-Old Agency to Innovate." 

Bode, Assistant Dean of College of Education at University of Massachusetts Amherst at present and, come August 2020, the Coordinator of Art Education at Southern Connecticut State University, will present, "Vulnerability and Self Determination in Art Education."

James Haywood Rolling, Jr. has been a Dual Professor in Art Education and Teaching and Leadership in the College of Visual and Performing Arts and the School of Education at Syracuse University. In addition to teaching in elementary school settings for nearly a decade and obtaining his doctorate in art education, he also holds M.F.A. in studio arts research. Dr. Rolling’s scholarly interests include arts-based research, creative leadership, urban education, narrative research methods, and the study of identity. Rolling has served in many roles with the National Art Education Association (NAEA) including as a member of the board of directors, serving as higher education division director, senior editor of the association’s bimonthly journal Art Education from 2015 to 2017, as a commissioner-at-large on the NAEA Research Commission. He was recently elected as the Research Commission’s associate chair. His books include Swarm Intelligence: What Nature Teaches Us About Shaping Creative Leadership (2013) and Arts-Based Research Primer (2013), Cinderella Story: A Scholarly Sketchbook about Race, Identity, Barack Obama, the Human Spirit, and Other Stuff that Matters (2010). He has also written a children’s book, Come Look with Me: Discovering African American Art (2005). As an award-winning scholar and educator, James remains committed to facilitating the ongoing story of how we humans constitute, shape, and reinterpret personal and collective identity.

Rooted in anti-racism and anti-bias activism, Patty Bode weaves a tapestry of teaching and leadership in PK-12 public schools, higher education and community settings. Her goal to equip teachers and professors to prepare their students to be full participants in our multicultural democracy defines her work. She has worked in public schools for over 20 years as an art teacher, curriculum leader and middle school principal, and in higher education settings for over 10 years as a professor, director of art education programs, and assistant dean. Patty has intersected this work with museums, neighborhood centers, juvenile justice institutions and city streets. In each setting, she focuses on innovative teaching, curriculum transformation, and social justice leadership through art integration and community partnerships. She has received several awards from the National Art Education Association (NAEA), and from other organizations such as the National Association for Multicultural Education (NAME), and the Anti-Defamation League (ADL). She has published widely. Her 2018 book is co-authored with Sonia Nieto, the 7th edition of Affirming Diversity: The Sociopolitical Context of Multicultural Education, which is used by teacher education programs nationally and internationally.  Patty is currently Assistant Dean of the College of Education of the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and will be joining the faculty of Southern Connecticut State University in New Haven, CT, as coordinator of the undergrad and graduate programs of Art Education in August of 2020.

Past Lecturers

Dipti Desai and Donalyn Heise (2018)
Christine Ballangee–Morris and Pam Taylor (2017)
Amy Pfeiler-Wunder and Marilyn Galvin Stewart (2016)
Doug Blandy and Kristin G. Congdon (2015)
Ami Kantawala and Mary Ann Stankiewicz (2014)
Amanda Allison and Rebecca McGinnis (2013)
Carole Henry and Carolyn Ehrler (2012)
Howard Taylor and Peter Samis (2011)
Terry Barrett and Christine Marme Thompson (2010)
B. Stephen Carpenter and Melody Milbrandt (2009)
Dipti Desai and Laurie E. Hicks (2008)
Olivia Gude and Kenneth Krafchek (2007) 

Back to top